Gynaecological Cancer Awareness Month 

September marks Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Month, a national recognition established by the Foundation for Women’s Cancer in 1999.

Each year in the UK, over 21,000 women are diagnosed with a gynaecological cancer. Gynecological Cancer Awareness Month provides an important opportunity to draw attention to this important women’s health issue and offer vital information on risk cancers, warning signs, and prevention strategies.

There are five types of gynecological cancers: 

  • Cervical cancer
  • Ovarian cancer
  • Vaginal cancer
  • Vulvar cancer
  • Womb (also called uterine cancer and endometrial) cancer

All gynecological cancers develop in a woman’s reproductive tract. Each has its own symptoms, frequency among women and characteristics. Ovarian cancer, for example, affects 7,400 women in the UK a year and, after treatment, it often returns resistant to chemotherapy. Vaginal cancer affects just 250 women in the UK annually – and is so rare that it is even more under-researched.

But they all have one thing in common: the earlier each is detected and treated, the greater chance a woman has of surviving.


Further Information

Published: Sep 1, 2020